# LIVINGSTON COUNTY BOARD MINUTES OF DECEMBER 5, 2022, ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

(Amended 01-12-23)

#### **OPENING**

County Clerk Kristy Masching called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room at the Historic Courthouse at 112 W. Madison, Pontiac, Illinois.

Gina Manker led the Pledge of Allegiance.

**Also Present**: County Clerk Kristy Masching, Executive Director Alina Hartley, Executive Assistant Jordan Uselding, Circuit Judge Jennifer Bauknecht, Sheriff Ryan Bohm, Chief Deputy Bob Turner, States Attorney Randy Yedinak, HR Director Ginger Harris, Finance Director Diane Schwahn, and Network & Computer Systems Administrator Jon Sear.

#### **LOTTERY FOR TERMS**

The County Clerk conducted the lottery for terms during the next ten-year period. Group A recipients were designated to serve two year, four year and four year terms, and Group B recipients were designated to serve four year, four year and two year terms. Members drew lots by district and by votes received in the November 8<sup>th</sup>, 2022 General Election. Members in **Group A** were: Jason Bunting, Rebekah Fehr, James A. Carley, Gina Manker, Mark Runyon, Marty Fannin, John J. Vitzthum, Gerald L. Earing, and Steven J. Lovell. Members in **Group B** were: John L. Vietti, Joel Barickman, Linda Ambrose, Dan Myers, Robert F. Weller, William Mays, Seth Welch, Jim Blackard, and Paul A. Ritter.

#### **APPOINTMENT FOR CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE**

County Clerk Kristy Masching appointed Marty Fannin – District #1, Gerald Earing – District #2 and Paul Ritter – District #3 for the Credentials Committee. The appointed members met with Clerk Masching from 6:10 p.m. until 6:20 p.m., to review the elected board members credentials. Marty Fannin reported that the committee examined the election results and found the credentials to be in order.

The County Clerk explained that the Certificates of Election had been placed at each member's seat, as well as the Oaths of Office. County Clerk Masching asked that the members return their oaths to her after the meeting, so that Judge Bauknecht would be able to sign them.

## **SWEARING IN**

The County Clerk called on Circuit Judge Jennifer Bauknecht to administer the Oath of Office to the County Board Members.

#### **NOMINATION OF TEMPORARY CHAIR**

The County Clerk called for nominations for temporary chair. Runyon nominated Weller, with a second by Earing. *Motion by Ritter, second by Fannin to close the nominations*. **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE.** 

There being no further nominations, the County Clerk declared Robert F. Weller to be the duly elected Temporary Chair.

New Board members Rebekah Fehr and Dan Myers were each given an opportunity to briefly address the Board.

#### ROLL CALL OF THE ENTIRE BOARD

County Clerk Masching called roll of the full board, with the following **present:** John L. Vietti, Rebekah Fehr, James A. Carley, Joel Barickman, Linda Ambrose, Gina Manker, Dan Myers, Mark Runyon, Marty

Fannin, Robert F. Weller, John J. Vitzthum, William Mays, Gerald L. Earing, Seth L. Welch, Jim Blackard, Steven J. Lovell, and Paul A. Ritter. **Absent**: Jason Bunting

## NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF PERMANENT CHAIR & VICE CHAIR

Temporary Chair Weller called for nominations for the permanent Board Chair. Motion by Ritter, second by Vietti to nominate James A. Carley. Motion by Ritter, second by Manker to close nominations.

MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE: Ayes: John L. Vietti, Rebekah Fehr, James A. Carley, Joel Barickman, Linda Ambrose, Gina Manker, Dan Myers, Mark Runyon, Marty Fannin, Robert F. Weller, John J. Vitzthum, William Mays, Gerald L. Earing, Seth L. Welch, Jim Blackard, Steven J. Lovell, and Paul A. Ritter. Nays: None Absent: Jason Bunting Motion by Ritter, second by Vietti to elect James A. Carley as permanent Chair. MOTION CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE: Ayes: John L. Vietti, Rebekah Fehr, James A. Carley, Joel Barickman, Gina Manker, Dan Myers, Mark Runyon, Marty Fannin, Robert F. Weller, John J. Vitzthum, William Mays, Gerald L. Earing, Seth L. Welch, Jim Blackard, Steven J. Lovell, and Paul A. Ritter. Nays: Linda Ambrose Absent: Jason Bunting

Temporary Chair Weller called for nominations for the permanent Vice Chair. *Motion by Fannin, second by Blackard to nominate Steven Lovell. Motion by Fannin, second by Ritter to close nominations.*MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE: Ayes: John L. Vietti, Rebekah Fehr, James A. Carley, Joel Barickman, Linda Ambrose, Gina Manker, Dan Myers, Mark Runyon, Marty Fannin, Robert F. Weller, John J. Vitzthum, William Mays, Gerald L. Earing, Seth L. Welch, Jim Blackard, Steven J. Lovell, and Paul A. Ritter. Nays: None Absent: Jason Bunting *Motion by Fannin, second by Blackard to elect Steven Lovell as permanent Vice Chair.* MOTION CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE: Ayes: John L. Vietti, Rebekah Fehr, James A. Carley, Joel Barickman, Gina Manker, Dan Myers, Mark Runyon, Marty Fannin, Robert F. Weller, John J. Vitzthum, William Mays, Gerald L. Earing, Seth L. Welch, Jim Blackard, Steven J. Lovell, and Paul A. Ritter. Nays: Linda Ambrose Absent: Jason Bunting

Newly elected Chair James Carley was escorted to his seat by John L. Vietti. Newly elected Vice Chair Steven Lovell was escorted to his seat by Mark Runyon.

Newly elected Chair Carley offered a few comments before conducting the rest of the meeting. He thanked former Chair Arbogast, former Vice Chair Bunting, and the members of the County Board. His goal is to function with wisdom, integrity, productivity and respect.

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

Sheriff Bohm introduced Robert Turner to the County Board as the new Chief Deputy for the Livingston County Sheriff's Department.

Chair Carley announced that the Committee assignments will be established by himself as well as Steven J. Lovell, Robert F. Weller, Marty Fannin and Mark Runyon.

Alina Hartley commented that the committee assignments would be completed tomorrow (December 6<sup>th</sup>, 2022), posted online and e-mailed to all members. Committee meetings will be held the week of December 12<sup>th</sup>, 2022.

The next board meeting will be held at 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, December 15<sup>th</sup>, 2022.

The meeting adjourned at 6:34 p.m. on motion by Fannin, second by Blackard. MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE.

James A. Carley, Chair

Attest:

# <u>Jordan Uselding</u>

Executive Assistant
On behalf of County Clerk, Kristy Masching

CB Min 120522.A