## LIVINGSTON COUNTY BOARD ELECTIONS COMMITTEE MINUTES OF AUGUST 2, 2021

Committee Chair Mike Kirkton called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. in the County Board Room of the Historic Courthouse.

Present: Kirkton, Manker, Barickman, Mennenga, Welch, Vietti, Vitzthum

Absent:

Also Present: County Board Chair Kathy Arbogast, County Board Member Linda Ambrose, Executive Director Alina Hartley, Human Resources Director Ginger Harris, Finance Director Diane Schwahn and Network & Computer Systems Administrator Jon Sear.

Kirkton called for any additions or corrections to the agenda with none requested. *Motion by Welchn, second by Welch to approve the agenda as presented.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES.** 

The Committee reviewed the minutes of the July 7, 2021 meetings. *Motion by Vitzthum, second by Manker to approve the minutes as submitted.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES.** 

**Review of Standing Rules** – Kirkton stated that he would like the Committee to begin the Standing Rules discussion with a review of the Committees. Discussion took place regarding possible combinations and consolidations of Committees including Personnel split between Finance (health insurance coverage) and Administrative (policies), IT to combine with Administrative as the department technically reports to that Committee as well. It was noted that larger IT projects could be handled on an ad-hoc basis. Discussion continued on the continuation of the VAC. Most members weighed in that they felt the communication was important, but the Committee could possibly consolidated with either Elections or a social services Committee.

Then began the initial review of the Standing Rules with the Committee weighing in on each recommended change. With the exception of the Committee restructure, all changes were minor. A discussion took place regarding the changing the term "Chairman" throughout the document to "Chairperson". *Motion by Manker, second by Welch to amend to Chairperson.* **MOTION CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE.** Ayes: Kirkton, Manker, Welch, Vitzthum. Nays: Barickman, Mennenga and Vietti. The Committee will continue to review the proposed changes at their next meeting.

The floor was opened for public comment.

*Motion by Mennenga, second by Manker to adjourn.* **MOTION CARRIED ON WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE.** Meeting adjourned at 5:51 p.m..

Alina M. Hartley Executive Director