LIVINGSTON COUNTY BOARD ELECTIONS COMMITTEE MINUTES OF JUNE 7, 2021

Committee Chair Mike Kirkton called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. in the County Board Room of the Historic Courthouse.

Present: Kirkton, Manker, Barickman, Welch, Vietti, Vitzthum

Absent: Mennenga

Also Present: County Board Chair Kathy Arbogast, County Board Members Linda Ambrose,

Mark Runyon, John Slagel, and Bill Mays, States Attorney Randy Yedinak, Executive Director Alina Hartley, Finance Director Diane Schwahn and Network

& Computer Systems Administrator Jon Sear

Kirkton called for any additions or corrections to the agenda with none requested. *Motion by Manker, second by Vitzthum to approve the agenda as presented.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES.**

The Committee reviewed the minutes of the June 7, 2021 meetings. *Motion by Vitzthum, second by Barickman to approve the minutes as submitted.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES.**

Appointment: Dave Quick – Cornell Fire Protection District Appointment: Don Bunting – Odell Fire Protection District Appointment: Jason Wolfe – Odell Fire Protection District Appointment: Dale Sass – Long Point Fire Protection District

Appointment: Brent Smith – Flanagan Graymont Fire Protection District

The Committee reviewed requests for appointment as outlined above. *Motion by Welch, second by Barickman to approve the requests for appointment as submitted.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE.**

2021 Reapportionment & Ordinance – Hartley reviewed the legislative changes from Senate Bill 825 which among other things, changes the requirements in regards to the county reapportionment. Changes included: a change to the definition of "population" allowing for the county board to determine by any reasonable method including the American Community Survey and extending the reapportion deadline to December 31, 2021. Hartley stated that if the legislation is passed by the Governor the draft resolution presented for the public hearing would no longer be applicable and would need to be changed. Hartley noted that the changes would only be effective for this reapportionment. Hartley noted that if signed there would no longer be a requirement that the Board re-evaluate once the census data is received, however, they could choose to do so at their discretion. The Committee reviewed the revised resolution approving the reapportionment ordinance, which was previously reviewed and approved by the States Attorney. Consensus of the Committee was to post the revised resolution for public inspection as well, noting that if SB 825 is signed by the governor it will be presented for approval as opposed to the first draft.

Review of Standing Rules – Kirkton stated that as the Committee begins their review of the Standing Rules, he would like to take a look at the Committee structure and get feedback. Manker stated that she had the opportunity to review purchasing requirements and would recommend that the exclusion of Highway be taken out of the purchasing policy. Discussion took place regarding that process with the consensus of the Committee being to recommend discussion at the Highway Committee meeting.

The floor was opened for public comment.

Motion by Barickman, second by Vitzthum to adjourn. MOTION CARRIED ON WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE. Meeting adjourned at 5:27 p.m..

Alina M. Hartley Executive Director