LIVINGSTON COUNTY BOARD ELECTIONS COMMITTEE MINUTES OF MAY 3, 2021

Committee Chair Mike Kirkton called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. in the County Board Room of the Historic Courthouse.

Present: Kirkton, Manker, Barickman, Welch, Vietti, Vitzthum

Absent: Mennenga

Also Present: County Board Chair Kathy Arbogast, County Board Members Linda Ambrose,

Mark Runyon, John Slagel, Bill Mays and Jim Blackard, States Attorney Randy Yedinak, Executive Director Alina Hartley, Finance Director Diane Schwahn and

Network & Computer Systems Administrator Jon Sear

Kirkton called for any additions or corrections to the agenda with none requested. *Motion by Manker, second by Barickman to approve the agenda as presented.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE.**

The Committee reviewed the minutes of the March 31st and April 5th, 2021 meetings. *Motion by Welch, second by Vitzthum to approve the minutes as submitted.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE.**

Appointment: Charles Cole – Reading Community Fire Protection District

Appointment: Linda Dionne & Nancy Giovanini – Board of Review

Appointment: Shelby Hoerner & Michael Fogarty – Farmland Assessment Review

Committee

Appointment: Deb Moran Mental Health 708 Board Appointment: Vicky Day Mental Health 377 Board

The Committee reviewed requests for appointment as outlined above. *Motion by Manker, second by Vitzthum to approve the requests for appointment as submitted.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE.**

2021 Reapportionment– Kirkton reviewed reported that he had attended a UCCI meeting with Arbogast and Hartley on the reapportionment process and the requirement for counties to utilize the census data that will not be available until after the July 1st deadline. Kirkton stated that he asked the States Attorney to attend to the meeting so the Committee could discuss the proposed process. Yedinak stated that the cornerstone is that the county act in good faith and the more the county can do to be transparent in the process, the better off they will be. Yedinak stated that the county should acknowledge the requirement and the inability to utilize the census data by the deadline, confirm their intent to verify and reaffirm once the census data is received and offer an opportunity for the public to provide their comments and/or objection. The proposal is to complete the plan by the Committee, place the plan on display and offer a public hearing to receive any public comment, and then vote on the final plan in June. Discussion took place. Consensus of the Committee was to request the public hearing be scheduled for 5:00 p.m. the night of the Board meeting in June (June 17th).

The Committee then discussed the per diem and mileage rate for board members, currently at \$45 for the per diem and the standard federal rate for mileage. Members discussed both maintaining the current rate and reducing the rate. *Motion by Welch, second by Manker to reduce the per diem from \$45 to \$35.* **MOTION FAILED ON ROLL CALL VOTE.** Ayes: Manker and Welch, Nays: Kirkton, Barickman, Vietti, Vitzthum, Absent: Mennenga.

Motion by Kirkton, second by Vietti to keep the per diem the same. MOTION CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE. Ayes: Kirkton, Manker, Barickman, Vietti, Vitzthum, Nays: Welch, Absent: Mennenga.

Motion by Barickman, second by Vietti to keep the mileage rate the same. MOTION CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE. All voted Aye; none Nay.

The Committee then discussed the per diem and mileage for the Chairman, currently at \$80 per diem and the standard federal mileage rate. *Motion by Manker, second by Vitzthum to leave the per diem and mileage rates the same.* **MOTION CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE.** Ayes: Kirkton, Manker, Barickman, Vietti, Vitzthum, Nays: Welch, Absent: Mennenga.

Review of Standing Rules – Kirkton stated that with all the decisions being made on the reapportionment plan, it would be his goal to turn to the Standing Rules hopefully submitted with the July packet and submitted to the Board for approval in August.

The floor was opened for public comment.

Motion by Barickman, second by Welch to adjourn. MOTION CARRIED ON WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE. Meeting adjourned at 5:43 p.m..

Alina M. Hartley
Executive Director