LIVINGSTON COUNTY BOARD ELECTIONS COMMITTEE MINUTES OF MARCH 1, 2021

Committee Chair Mike Kirkton called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. in the County Board Room of the Historic Courthouse.

Present: Kirkton, Barickman, Manker, Mennenga, Welch, Vietti, Vitzthum

Absent:

Also Present: County Board Chair Kathy Arbogast, County Board Members Linda Ambrose,

Mark Runyon, John Slagel, and Jim Blackard, Executive Director Alina Hartley, Finance Director Diane Schwahn and Human Resources Director Ginger Harris.

Kirkton called for any additions or corrections to the agenda with none requested. *Motion by Barickman, second by Manker to approve the agenda as presented.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE.**

The Committee reviewed the minutes of the February 1, 2021 meeting. *Motion by Manker, second by Welch to approve the minutes as submitted.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE.**

Appointment: James Patten Livingston County Board of Review (6/1/2020-5/31/2022)
Appointment: Linda Dionne Livingston County Board of Review (6/1/2019-5/31/2021)
Appointment: Nancy Giovanini Livingston County Board of Review (6/1/2019-5/31/2021)
Appointment: Shelby Horner Livingston County Farmland Assessment Review (9/1/2019-8/31/2021)

Appointment: Michael Fogarty Livingston County Farmland Assessment Review (9/1/2019-8/31/2021)

Appointment: Denny Rich – Saunemin Fire Protection District **Appointment:** Bill Zeilman – Long Point Fire Protection District

The Committee reviewed requests for appointment as outlined above. *Motion by Manker, second by Barickman to approve the requests for appointment as submitted.* **MOTION CARRIED WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE.**

2021 Reapportionment– Kirkton reviewed the proposed reapportionment timeline with the Committee, noting that the goal for today's meeting would be to establish the number of board members. Discussion took place regarding the possible reduction of the board with members weighing in both for and against. Some members opined that the current size of the board was too many for the size of the county, noting that a reduction would create more election competition, more efficiency and a financial reduction. Others opined that the level of representation was a service to the citizens of the county and any reduction would be a reduction in service. Kirkton stated that based on the results of the questionnaire it was his opinion that a reduction to 12 or 15 members would not pass, and that a smaller reduction such as 21 would be more palatable. *Motion by Vietti, second by Manker to recommend a reduction to eighteen board members.* **MOTION FAILED ON ROLL CALL VOTE.** Ayes: Manker, Barickman, Vietti. Nays: Kirkton, Mennenga, Welch, Vitzthum.

Motion by Barickman, second by Mennenga to recommend a reduction to 21 members. MOTION CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE. Ayes: Kirkton, Manker, Barickman, Mennenga, Welch, Vitzthum. Nays: Vietti.

Review of Standing Rules – Kirkton stated that his plan would be to do the review of the Standing Rules in July after the reapportionment recommendation has been approved and a decision is made on the Committee structure.

The floor was opened for public comment.

Motion by Welch, second by Manker to adjourn. MOTION CARRIED ON WITH ALL AYES ON VOICE VOTE. Meeting adjourned at 5:48 p.m..

Alina M. Hartley
Executive Director