LIVINGSTON COUNTY BOARD

MINUTES OF December 7, 2020, Organizational MEETING OF THE COUNTY BOARD

OPENING

County Clerk Kristy Masching called the meeting to order at 6:00p.m. in the Board Room at the Historic Courthouse at 112 W. Madison, Pontiac, Illinois.

Marty Fannin led the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Clerk called roll of the eleven held over board members with the following members **present**: James A. Carley, Robert F. Weller, Linda Ambrose, William Mays, Steven Lovell, John Vitzthum, James Blackard, Gerald Earing, Mark Runyon, Kathy Arbogast, **absent**: Bill Wilkey.

Also Present: County Clerk-Kristy Masching, States Attorney Randy Yedinak, Executive Director-Alina Hartley and Circuit Judge Jennifer Bauknecht

NOMINATION OF TEMPORARY CHAIRMAN

Clerk Masching called for nominations for a temporary chairman. *Motion by Arbogast, second by Bunting to nominate Bob Weller as temporary Chairman. Motion by Arbogast, second by Carley to close nominations and appoint Bob Weller as temporary Chairman.* **MOTION CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE. Ayes**: James A. Carley, Robert F. Weller, Linda Ambrose, William Mays, Steven Lovell, John Vitzthum, James Blackard, Gerald Earing, Mark Runyon, Kathy Arbogast, **Nays**: None **Absent:** Bill Wilkey Bob Weller was elected as temporary Board Chairman with all ayes on voice vote.

APPOINTMENT OF CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE & REPORT

Temporary Chairman Weller stated that he would be selecting one member from each of the three districts for the Credentials Committee and appointed Jim Carley -District #1, Steve Lovell -District #2 and Mark Runyon -District #3. The appointed members met with Clerk Masching from 6:04p.m. until 6:10p.m. to review the elected board members credentials. Carley reported that the committee reviewed the final election results from the November 3, 2020 General Election and reviewed the documents presented by Clerk Kristy Masching. They found the credentials to be in order and accepted the results on behalf of the county.

SWEARING IN CEREMONY

Judge Jennifer Bauknecht was present to swear-in the eleven re-elected members, as well as the two new Board members.

Temporary Chairman Weller welcomed the two new members: Scott Mennenga - District #1; Seth Welch -District #3; and invited them to address the board.

Clerk Masching called roll of the entire board, with the following **present**: John L. Vietti, Jason Bunting, Mike Kirkton, Gina Manker, Joel J. Barickman, John Slagel, Marty Fannin, Joseph D. Steichen, Tim Shafer, Scott Mennenga, Ronald L. Kestner, Seth Welch, Kathy Arbogast, Robert F. Weller, Paul A. Ritter, James A. Carley, Steven Lovell, Linda Ambrose, William Mays, Gerald Earing, John Vitzthum, James Blackard, and Mark Runyon. **Absent**: Bill Wilkey

NOMINATION and ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Temporary Chairman Weller called for nominations for the Board Chairman. *Motion by Lovell, second by Carley to nominate Kathy Arbogast. Motion by Fannin, second by Ritter to close the nominations.*MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE. Ayes: John L. Vietti, Jason Bunting, Mike Kirkton, Gina Manker, Joel J. Barickman, John Slagel, Marty Fannin, Joseph D. Steichen, Tim Shafer, Scott Mennenga, Ronald L. Kestner, Seth Welch, Kathy Arbogast, Robert F.

Weller, Paul A. Ritter, James A. Carley, Steven Lovell, Linda Ambrose, William Mays, Gerald Earing, John Vitzthum, James Blackard, and Mark Runyon. **Absent**: Bill Wilkey

The clerk called roll call on the nomination to appoint Kathy Arbogast as Chairman of the Board. Ayes: John L. Vietti, Jason Bunting, Mike Kirkton, Gina Manker, John Slagel, Marty Fannin, Tim Shafer, Scott Mennenga, Ronald L. Kestner, Seth Welch, Kathy Arbogast, Robert F. Weller, Paul A. Ritter, James A. Carley, Steven Lovell, Linda Ambrose, William Mays, Gerald Earing, John Vitzthum, James Blackard, and Mark Runyon. **Present:** Joel J. Barickman, **Abstain:** Joseph D. Steichen Absent: Bill Wilkey

NOMINATION and ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

Chairman Arbogast called for nominations for the Board Vice-Chairman. *Motion by Shafer, second by Fannin to nominate Jason Bunting. Motion by Fannin, second by Earing to close the nominations.*MOTION TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE. Ayes: John L. Vietti, Jason Bunting, Mike Kirkton, Gina Manker, Joel J. Barickman, John Slagel, Marty Fannin, Joseph D. Steichen, Tim Shafer, Scott Mennenga, Ronald L. Kestner, Seth Welch, Kathy Arbogast, Robert F. Weller, Paul A. Ritter, James A. Carley, Steven Lovell, Linda Ambrose, William Mays, Gerald Earing, John Vitzthum, James Blackard, and Mark Runyon. Absent: Bill Wilkey

The clerk called roll call on the nomination to appoint Jason Bunting as Vice-Chairman of the Board. Ayes: John L. Vietti, Jason Bunting, Mike Kirkton, Gina Manker, Joel J. Barickman, John Slagel, Marty Fannin, Joseph D. Steichen, Tim Shafer, Scott Mennenga, Ronald L. Kestner, Seth Welch, Kathy Arbogast, Robert F. Weller, Paul A. Ritter, James A. Carley, Steven Lovell, Linda Ambrose, William Mays, Gerald Earing, John Vitzthum, James Blackard, and Mark Runyon. Absent: Bill Wilkey

REMARKS BY THE CHAIRMAN

Chairman Arbogast welcomed the new board members and thanked the Board for their continued support.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Clerk Masching asked the recently elected board members to sign both copies of their oath and return them to her after the meeting. Masching also noted that all per diems should be submitted prior to December 17th.

Chairman Arbogast announced the committee assignments would be would be released the following day.

The next board meeting will be held at 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, December 17, 2020.

The meeting adjourned at 6:24 p.m. on motion by Fannin, second by Blackard. MOTION CARRIED ON ROLL CALL VOTE. Ayes: John L. Vietti, Jason Bunting, Mike Kirkton, Gina Manker, Joel J. Barickman, John Slagel, Marty Fannin, Joseph D. Steichen, Tim Shafer, Scott Mennenga, Ronald L. Kestner, Seth Welch, Kathy Arbogast, Robert F. Weller, Paul A. Ritter, James A. Carley, Steven Lovell, Linda Ambrose, William Mays, Gerald Earing, John Vitzthum, James Blackard, and Mark Runyon. Absent: Bill Wilkey

Kathy Arbogast, Chairman

Attest:

Kristy A. Masching County Clerk

December 17, 2020 Approved

Co Bd Min 120720.A